Were you or a loved one recently injured in a bus accident collision? Watch this video to learn about protecting your rights under Florida state law.
What should I do if a bus strikes my vehicle?
You may be wanting to ask, “What if I’m injured in a car accident where a bus strikes my vehicle?” Bus Accident CollisionIn Florida, that is a very special and unique situation because if you’re injured in an accident where you’re struck by a bus either as a pedestrian or as an occupant of another motor vehicle, we have to put that entity on notice within a very specific time period. That’s what we call the Florida Sovereign Immunity Law which requires us to give them a notice of claim within three years from the date that accident occurred.
That situation involves a bus accident where the bus is owned by either a municipality or a county or some other entity. There’s also the instance where you might be injured by a bus from a school. That relates to the school board that bus driver was working for. Whether it’s the school board of Pinellas County, or the school board of Pasco County, or Hillsboro county, the same rule applies because the rules of Sovereign Immunity will apply to that claim. We have to put that entity on notice within that three-year time period.
Otherwise, your own insurance will apply as well, specifically your no-fault coverage. Your personal injury protection coverage which covers you up to 80% of your reasonable medical expenses up to $10,000, and 60% of any of your lost income or lost wages up to that same $10,000. If you’re injured in a bus accident, please give us a call. We’re here to help you and make sure that your rights are protected and you receive full compensation for your injuries.